Mileposts #1129 – Lake Arrowhead Yacht Club

By Bill Pumford, Image from the ROWHS Collection

In August 1930 the Lake Arrowhead Yacht Club was formed by 53 charter members that were yachtsmen primarily interested in open inboard speedboat racing on the lake. Walter Woestman was elected as the first Commodore. In 1931 the club existed as an unincorporated organization and continued to race the inboards for the B.I. Malouf and Charles M. Hackley trophies. The club did expand into informal racing of open sailing vessels in the classes Snowbirds, Rainbow Skimmers, Patricia Skimmers, Flatties, and Star Boats. In the summer of 1932 the club hosted their first series of formal regattas for sail boats in addition to the open inboard speedboat races. This year also saw the introduction of outboard motorboat races under the auspices of the Southern California Outboard Association. In October, 1932 the Lake Arrowhead Yacht Club became incorporated with the following people as Board of Directors: J.B. Van Nuys, Frank Fox, Charles Hackley, A.H. Pier, John Vai, Walter Woestman, Dean McComber, Ed Jaun, and Ellsworth Betts. In 1933 Bill Hackley was the Commodore and the Yacht Club negotiated with the Arrowhead Lake Corporation for the future installation of some docks near the Village for use by the Yacht Club. In 1934 the Yacht Club installed a ten-slip dock on the south shore of the Village. During the next several decades the Yacht Club continued to grow its membership along with its racing heritage. In 1987 the first woman Commodore was selected for the Yacht Club, Susan King, who had previous experience with the Yacht Club as a 17-year member and, in addition, her husband was as a previous Commodore. The Yacht Club continues to adhere to its Mission Statement which reads in part “The mission of the Lake Arrowhead Yacht Club is to instill and enhance an interest in yachting and the spirit of sportsmanship amongst its members and their families”.

Share this: